Posted by: Amanda | June 6, 2008

Bauwstin

I’m way overtired from last weekend.  We went to Boston with friends.  It was three full days of fun, laughing and walking.  I loved every minute, but this week I am t-i-r-e-d.

Friday night we drove into Boston, got settled at our hotel and then went to my favorite restaurant on earth:  The Cheesecake Factory.  It was weird being back “in town”.  I forgot how awful the driving is and how expensive the parking is.  Oh. My. Word.  I think we paid around $30 a DAY to park.  Crazy, right?

Saturday it was a bit gloomy so we decided to do indoor activities.  We went to the Boston Aquarium in the morning.  Andy and I have been there several times before, but I still loved it.  I was happy to see my favorite attractions still there like the penguins, tropical fish and sea turtles.  Luckily we got there fairly early because it got packed with people fast!

Boston – Aquarium

From there the skies cleared up a bit and we walked over to Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall for some shopping and lunch.  We also caught a street performance.  Van actually got to hold the rope for their performance which was pretty exciting.

      

Andy has been been chomping at the bit for a good steak n’ cheese sub.  They just don’t make ’em like that in Maine.  Trust me, we’ve done the research.

Boston – Quincy Market

After lunch we went to Museum of Science for an IMAX movie.  This wasn’t my particular favorite part of the trip.  The 180 degree screen tends to make me more than a little nauseous.  We saw “The Alps” which was actually really good once you get adjusted to the screen.  I would recommend it.

We were going to have dinner in Boston’s North End but decided to go back to the hotel and go somewhere in Peabody (where the hotel was).  We were all beat from the walking & sightseeing. Plus I really wanted to take advantage of the hotel pool which was open at annoying hours (9am-9pm).  

We all got dressed and went to Kowloon’s.  A popular Asian restaurant Andy and used to frequent when we lived in Salem.  The menu is 15 pages long and includes everything from Thai, Chinese, Cantonese, American Chinese (which is what we always order from) and some other kind of “…enese”.  I blew the diet a little bit and had rice, peking ravioli (my favorite) and General Gau chicken.  Can you say carbo load? 

I finally got to wear my new dress!  Do you see it there on the left?  My mom bought it for me last summer at the Kittery Outlets and I have been waiting…and waiting…for a place to wear it.  I love it.

Sunday was a gorgeous day.  We got up early (5:15am), got ready, ate breakfast (free and fabulous at the hotel) and drove into the city to conquer The Freedom Trail.  This was my favorite part of the trip.  We started off at King’s Chapel Burial Ground where Sam Adams and Paul Revere are buried.  It was really neat to see history up close.

Perfect photo opt.  (Igonore the outfit…I wasn’t prepared for how HOT it was last Sunday)

Other stops on the trail included:  The Boston Common, Park Street Church (it had an outdoor pulpit..how cool!), State House, Old South Meeting House,Boston Massacre Site, Old City Hall, Faneuil Hall, Holocaust Memorial, Paul Revere’s House, Old North Church, USS Constitutionand Bunker Hill.  Needless to say were were exhausted by the end of the day.  Especially considering the distance between The Old North Church and the USS Constitution is about 3 miles(by flip-flop-foot).   It was neat though, the entire trail is inlay-ed in the streets of Boston with bricks so you never get lost. 

Well, we did get lost a few times.  Which this picture captures beautifully.

We did find our way though.  The last part of the trail was a grumpy one for me.  I was t-i-r-e-d and my feet h-u-r-t.   As I said it was a three mile (or so) walk from The Old North Church to the USS Constitution and by that time we had already been walking for about 5 hours (or so).  

Evidence of grumpiness:

My poor husband.   It was worth it though.  Bunker hill was really neat and it was fun to brush up on my American history a bit. 

   

Bunker Hill was huge.   Our friends Van & Jessica actually climbed the 500 stairs to the top while Andy and I played “dead soldiers” in the front lawn.    As large as it is…it only has ONE bathroom.

See more pictures by clicking on the album’s below!

Boston – Freedom Trail – All 7,000 Miles of It
Boston – Freedom Trail – Grave Sites
Boston – Random Pics

 The end.

Responses

  1. […] Recovering Posted on June 6, 2008 by Amanda @ Down Home Dieting This week has been restful.  We took a three day trip to Boston last weekend with friends.  It was a great time of sightseeing, laughing and walking.  But, now I’m tired.  I blogged about it here (along with a ton of pictures). […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

