Posted by: Amanda | September 10, 2008

Tuesday Ramble

  • I’ve been reading in the Old Testament a lot recently. Specifically Ruth and I & II Samuel. I’m getting a lot out of it this round.
  • I spent thirty minutes today listening to an instrumental version of “Living on the Edge”.  I was on hold with our insurance company BCBS.  It was one of the most annoying 30 minutes of my life.
  • Andy has a dinner date with a work related colleague tonight therefore I can cook whatever I like for dinner and hear no complaining. I’m tired today, so I’ll probably wind up just eating cereal.
  • My Mom and Grandparents are coming for a visit next weekend. I cannot wait. Top on the agenda (aside from lighthouses, lobster, ocean) is canning homemade applesauce. There must have been a glitch in my childhood because I have no idea how to “can” something. I can and do make homemade applesauce, but I usually freeze it or eat it right away.
  • I’m teaching Sunday school this weekend. My class graduated last week so I have a new bunch of children. This time, they are much younger (2 instead of 5). Should make for an interesting class. Any ideas on how to get them to sit still?
  • I’ve been preparing for our next youth bible study starting in October. The girls are doing the book “A Daughter’s Worth” by Ava Sturgeon. It’s amazing. I hope the teens get out of it as much as I have.
  • Project Runway is on tonight. Hurray!
  • Andy took me to Maggie Moo’s last night for a treat (it’s sort of like Cold Stone Creamery). Two smalls came to $11.70. Ugh?
  • Emma came in the mail yesterday (Netflicks). I’m on a Jane Austen kick and tonight is shaping up to be the perfect night for a chick flick.
  • I got two really awesome gifts for my birthday (Sept 7th). Andy got me a program called “Sure Cuts A Lot“. It goes on the computer and hooks up to my Cricut machine (scrapbooking die cutting machine). Basically, instead of spending $80 per Cricut cartridge, this program allows you to cut any dingbat or true type font for FREE. I’ve been downloading things like crazy from here, here and here. He also bought me an Alan Claude print of Portland Headlight. We saw it in the mall months and months ago and I fell in love with it. Great thoughtful gifts this year.
  • I need some coffee.
  • I’m going to a friends house on Friday, and I need to bring a dessert.  Any ideas?  My MIL gave me a tart pan recently so I’m hoping to find a yummy fruit tart.  I made Paula Deen’s Peach cream tart last week, but it lacked something (flavor?).
Responses

  1. Being a mom with a bunch of 2yo’s I suggest you change your mindset to children who wont sit still, and start from there! LOL! The thing withh 2yo’s is that they play alone with others in the same room. They don’t necessarily play well with others. Though I’ve found 2yo’s will like a short book. Maybe you can get them to “help” you with something. They love to help. They love to be involved with what you’re doing; think of things that will make them feel useful or contributing in some way. Good luck!

  2. I like your new header. Did you make it yourself?


Leave a Reply

Categories

